Book Review – Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake

13077542Book: Anna Dressed In Blood

Author: Kendare Blake

Format: Paperback

Rating: 5/5

Review: This is the second time I have read this book, only because I had an urge to read the second but I could only remember tiny snippets from what happened in this and I swear I enjoyed this more the second time around. For anyone who is unaware of this book, it is the first in the Anna duology by Kendare Blake and is to do with horror and romance. To me that sounded like a very strange yet interesting combination and honestly I think it went quite well. The book revolves around the character of Cas (we read the book from his perspective) and he is involved with the killing of ghosts. A lot of things happen and well I can’t give too much away but there is a lot of gore and bad language for anyone that is wary of that sort of thing in a book. I will also say now that the gore is not described in too much detail, so someone who is very squeamish (such as myself) can read it with no problem. The book is also labelled as ‘not for younger readers’ probably for those reasons. The book itself I thought was very interesting, the mixture of the two genres was very nicely done and the writing style is enjoyable as well. It works well both as a standalone novel but you can also see where it was left off for a second book, which is called Girl of Nightmares. In all, the book was although dark it had it’s lighter moments and it was interesting and I got through it in I think two days which was insanely quick for me. I do recommend this book but please be aware of the gore and bad language.

-Laura

3 thoughts on “Book Review – Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake

  1. Nice to see that opinions can differ, haha!
    I enjoyed this book, but not that much that I’d give it 5/5. It just wasn’t.. creepy enough, I guess. The fast pace of the story kind of ruined it for me. I felt like it should’ve been slower and that would automatically added the creepiness-factor as well.
    I haven’t read the sequel and, honestly, am not planning on it either..

    Still nice to read your review though! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I get what you mean with it not being creepy enough. But then again I’m sorta okay with that sine I’m a bit of a wimp with that sort of thing haha. I agree the story should have been slower as well.
      Honestly the sequel isn’t as good although I did still enjoy it somewhat (although I may have rated it more than I now think I should have but I write the reviews as I finish it so it’s kinda initial thoughts after reading). It’s great hearing other people’s opinions though, thank you so much for commenting πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, I’m the same! I’d rather not it creep me out, but in the end I just really expected this book to do just that. So it’s still disappointing if it doesn’t happen in a way – even if there’s relief as well.
        Totally get that! I always write my reviews immediately after finishing a book so it’s just the pure thoughts I had when finishing it and not the comparison with other books if I have time to think everything over.

        You’re welcome! πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

