Life & Tea

A random collection of things


Tech Review – EZ Flash Omega

For anyone who is still very much into the Gameboy (original to advance), you can understand that taking your games on the go can be hard due to their bulky size, as well as the issue of some games being very very expensive. As a student who lives with their boyfriend, I travel from home to York, so it can take up a lot of space if I want to take Gameboy games with me, but I also use a Gameboy Micro for my games, so only Gameboy Advance games are compatible, meaning I can’t play any of my original or colour Gameboy games, up until now!

Photo taken from Google

For £30 on eBay, I managed to purchase the EZ Flash Omega. This is a device where you insert a micro SD card into it to play ROM versions of the games on. You download the ROMS from the internet (which can be controversial) and you can play them on a Gameboy Advance, SP or Micro! Oh and the original DS and DS Lite. If you put your ROMs into folders, it’s very easy to navigate to find the game you want to play. With my micro SD card, I use a 32gb one which yes, is overkill, but I’m happy to have plenty of space, especially as that card was sitting around doing nothing, as I have bigger ones in my Nintendo Switch consoles. I tend to keep to just games I know I own, but theres a few that are on there that I’ve never owned, including the NES version of Tetris. The EZ Flash Omega is compatible with original Gameboy games, Colour, Advance and Nintendo Entertainment System games. Making this PERFECT for on the go!

Now, why are ROMs and emulation controversial? Simply because you do not legally own the games, they’re basically pirated copies of games. Yet, the developers do not make money directly from the sales of these games anymore, as the games are old and are not purchased directly from the creators, they are usually pre-owned or at least bought from another person who might have been a collector. With me, I tend to just do games I own, it’s very rare that I will put a game on this that I do not own, and that’ll be either so I can find out if I enjoy it, or because it is expensive. It’s difficult for me to take all my games, so this makes life a lot easier for me.

If you’re into more retro gaming, I do recommend this, The experience of this on a Gameboy Micro is really fun. It was simple to set up (the manual is online, and includes the firmware) and it’s easy to put the games onto your Micro SD card.



Leave a comment